When The Light Shines Brightly

Psalm 16 // A miktam of David

Katie is a nurse!!! She begins her career at Sharp Mary Birch this week, and I could not be more proud of her. I can say with certainty that she is going to make an incredible nurse, because if she puts half of the effort and love into her job that she pours into our marriage and home she will be fantastic.

Today is a joyful celebration, one of those days where it is easy to say with David:

Lord, you alone are my portion and my cup;
    you make my lot secure.
The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places;
    surely I have a delightful inheritance.
I will praise the Lord, who counsels me;
    even at night my heart instructs me.
I keep my eyes always on the Lord.
    With him at my right hand, I will not be shaken.

Yet this moment comes at the end of a long and difficult season in the Ward household: the season of schooling. Granted, Katie and I made the decision to continue schooling after college, so our misery was self-imposed, but at times it was misery nonetheless. We both enjoyed our respective educations tremendously, but they did put an incredible amount of strain on our lives.

Between Katie spending 60-70 hours a week on her program, and me taking a double full-time course load and working four jobs, we were running on fumes for the first two years of our marriage. We experienced exhaustion, irritability, frustration, sorrow, mental breakdown, anxiety, panic attacks, and more. It was a season where it took all we had to say with David:

Keep me safe, my God,
    for in you I take refuge.

Francis Bacon said, “In order for the light to shine so brightly, the darkness must be present.” We understand David’s progression of thought because we too have walked through a season of stress and struggle, but have walked through it into light as witnesses that God does not abandon his people. This light is only a season, just as it was dark only for a time, but we will rejoice in the light as long as it is here, and celebrate all that God has done and the accomplishments we have achieved by his strength.

KATIE’S A NURSE!!!

Therefore my heart is glad and my tongue rejoices;
    my body also will rest secure,
10 because you will not abandon me to the realm of the dead,
    nor will you let your faithful[b] one see decay.
11 You make known to me the path of life;
    you will fill me with joy in your presence,
    with eternal pleasures at your right hand.

 

Leave a Reply

